Nux!

Home » Stella » General chat » Looks like I am not leaving Linux after all (Only for Stella with Mate)
Looks like I am not leaving Linux after all [message #2886] Mon, 05 January 2015 01:24 Go to next message
Edge is currently offline  Edge
Hi Everyone,

I am new to Stella and in Linux 2 and half years. Mint (Ubuntu based) was my first Linux experience, but soon moved to LMDE, didn't work; tried Debian. Fedora, Manjaro and few others. It was Cent OS I spent last 2 years with. Best parts of Cent OS were Gnome 2, Codecs and of course stability, worse part were Pulling hairs to install any latest version of program due to my lack of rpm repo experience.

I tried some Desktop environments - only like gnome 2 as the best and xfce 2nd. it was mostly gnome 2 made me love Linux when started Cent OS 6.4. I like system upgrade whenever comes, but Cent OS 7 comes with Gnome 3 and KDE. while I don't have complain against other DE (neither prefer), however, I much prefer to sitting down with my cell phone than open desktop with Gnome 3 if there is nothing else to do.

Every thing I do on desktop, rarely use home folder and keep important things in external drive - many years of habit and i prefer it. Gnome 3 is the one pointed me for the first time - i am a happy desktop user and a functional desktop must come before Linux or windows OS choice. I was about to install again win 7 while I found only review of Stella at Dedoimedo. After read at this forum "By the looks of it looks like Stella 7 will feature MATE as its main DE" by Nux, I installed Stella. Not only feeling sorry for myself for pulling hairs last 2 years on Cent OS, but also found the best Linux distro. 2 weeks now, tested and installed some of the best Graphic and video editing programs Linux can offer.